LAIPLA Committees 2021-2022

Ambassador / In-House Outreach Committee
Plans the Ambassador Program, ensuring there is an LAIPLA contact person at all member firms and companies and increases participation of our Member Firms at our events. Ensures that LAIPLA meets the needs of its in-house members and increases participation of In-House attorneys at our events.
Committee Chair: Gary Olsen, B. Riley
Member: Jennifer So, Honda

Copyright & Trademark Committee 
Plans our Winter and Spring Copyright and Trademark programs. 
Committee Chair: Tracy Rane, Kasowitz
LAIPLA Board Liaison:  Erica Van Loon, Lathrop GPM 

Courthouse Lunch Committee
Plans the yearly courthouse lunch at the Federal Court in a Judge’s courtroom.
Committee Chair: Yungmoon Chang, Kirkland & Ellis
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Hans Mayer, Knobbe Martens 

Diversity Outreach Committee
Plans our Summer Diversity Fellowship program to increase diversity in the Intellectual Property community.
Committee Chairs: Nick Fung, Morrison Foerster
Jennifer So, Honda
Robert Taylor
LAIPLA Board LiaisonChristopher Jackson, Warner Bros.

The ways to get involved with LAIPLA are many. Committees run the gamut, from the Ambassador Committee to the Young Lawyers Committee and many in between.




Members Participating


Always Room For One More!

Judges’ Night Committee
Plans our biggest night of the year, the Judges’ Night Gala.
Committee Chair: Liz Brannen, Stris Maher LLP
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Xinlin Morrow, Morrow Firm
Member:  Adam Kwon, Law Clerk at U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Law School Outreach Committee
Plans our Law School Road Show events.
Committee Chairs: Arka Chatterjee, Natera
LAIPLA Board LiaisonsJacob ZodieruArent Fox 

Mentorship Committee
Organizes our mentorship program for law students.
Committee Chair:  Steve Smyrski
LAIPLA Board Liason:  Jacob Zodieru, Arent Fox

Past Presidents Outreach Committee
Ensures LAIPLA maintains a strong relationship with our Past Presidents.
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Ted Chandler, Baker Botts

Patent and Trade Secrets Committee
Plans our Fall and Spring patent and trade secrets programs.
Committee Chairs: Vinny Ling, Munger Tolles & Olson
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Hans Mayer, Knobbe Martens 
Sarah Cork, Proskauer

Small Firm Outreach Committee
Plans our small firm and solo practitioner networking meetings and increases participation of small firm and solo practitioner attorneys at our events.
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Amy A. Breyer, Breyer Andrew LLP

Sponsorship Committee
Coordinates sponsorship for our events.
Committee Chair: Xinlin Morrow, Morrow Firm
LAIPLA Board Liaison: TechTainment– Dave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak
Washington in the WestJames Abe, Alston & Bird LLP
Amy A. Breyer, Breyer Andrew LLP
Judges’ Night – Erica Van Loon, Lathrop GPM 
Spring Seminar – Ashe Puri, Maynard Cooper & Gale

Spring Seminar Committee
Plans our premier event of the year, Spring Seminar.
Committee Chair: Stephen Kelley, Cypress LLP
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Sarah Cork, Proskauer
Gary Olsen, B. Riley
Members: Nick Fung, Morrison Foerster

Technology Transactions Committee 
Plans our Fall and Spring technology transactions programs. 
Committee Co-Chairs: Carson Zheng, Goodwin
Adam Kwon, Law Clerk at U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Xinlin Morrow, Morrow Firm

TechTainment Committee
Plans our Technology + Entertainment conference in conjunction with Loyola Law School.
Committee Chair: Mark Treitel, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart and Sullivan LLP
Dave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak
LAIPLA Board LiaisonDave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak

Loyola Law School LiaisonProfessor Justin Hughes, Loyola Law School

Washington in the West Committee
Plans our Washington in the West program, the premier patent and trademark prosecution program on the West Coast.
Committee Chair: Sepp Zangeneh, Patterson + Sheridan
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: James Abe, Alston & Bird LLP
Amy A. Breyer, Breyer Andrew LLP

Women in IP Committee
Plans our Fall and Spring Women in IP programs.
Committee ChairSharoni Finkelstein, Venable
LAIPLA Board LiaisonsHelen Omapas, HARMAN International
Natasha Daughtrey, Goodwin Procter

Young Lawyers Outreach Committee
Plans our Young Lawyers programs and increases participation of Young Lawyer at our events.
Committee Chair: Jordan Nafekh, Irell & Manella LLPs
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: James Abe, Alston & Bird LLP
Members: Daniel Dubin, Alston & Bird LLP
Daniel Kadin, Lathrop GPM

If you would like to join an LAIPLA Committee, please email the Board Liaison. 

2020-2021 Committees
2019-2020 Committees
2018-2019 Committees