COMMITTEES

LAIPLA Committees 2018-2019


Ambassador Outreach Committee
Plans the Ambassador Program, ensuring there is a LAIPLA contact person at all member firms and companies and increases participation of our Member Firms at our events.
Committee Chair: Ruchika Verma, Morrison & Foerster, RVerma@mofo.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Erol Basol, Morrison & Foerster, EBasol@mofo.com
Members: Matt C. Callahan, Morrison & Foerster, MCallahan@mofo.com
John Raleigh O’Donnell, Morrison & Foerster, JODonnell@mofo.com

Courthouse Lunch Committee
Plans the yearly courthouse lunch at the Federal Court in a Judge’s courtroom.
Committee Chairs:  Xinlin Morrow, Hueston Hennigan LLP, xmorrow@hueston.com
Michael Acquah, Hueston Hennigan LLP, MAcquah@hueston.com
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Ted Chandler, Sidley Austin LLP, tchandler@sidley.com
Members: Lauren Johnson, Hueston Hennigan LLP, ljohnson@hueston.com
Alex Giza, Hueston Hennigan LLP, agiza@hueston.com

Diversity Outreach Committee
Plans our Summer Diversity Fellowship program to increase diversity in the Intellectual Property community.
Committee Chair: Jennifer So, Honda, jennifer_so@hpt.honda.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Christopher Jackson, Warner Bros., chris.jackson@warnerbros.com
Erol Basol, Morrison & Foerster, EBasol@mofo.com
Members: Jean Nguyen, Morrison & Foerster, Jnguyen@mofo.com

The ways to get involved with LAIPLA are many. Committees run the gamut, from Ambassador Committee to Young Lawyer Committee and many in between.

15

Committees

50

Members Participating

1

Always Room For One More!

In-House Outreach Committee
Ensures that LAIPLA meets the needs of its in-house members and increases participation of In-House attorneys at our events.
Committee Chair: Benjamin Yaghoubian, Kirkland & Ellis LLP, benjamin.yaghoubian@kirkland.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Christopher Jackson, Warner Bros., chris.jackson@warnerbros.com
Members: Graham Cole, Proskauer Rose LLP, graham.b.cole@outlook.com
Helen Omapas, Harman International, Helen.Omapas@harman.com
David Randall, Brooks Kushman, DRandall@BrooksKushman.com
Ashe Puri, FoxRothschild, apuri@foxrothschild.com

Judges’ Night Committee
Plans our biggest night of the year, the Judges’ Night Gala.
Committee Chair: Durie Tangri
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Alex Giza, Hueston Hennigan LLP, agiza@hueston.com
Members: Ted Chandler, Sidley Austin LLP, tchandler@sidley.com

Law School Outreach Committee
Plans our Law School Road Show events.
Committee Chairs: Xinlin Morrow, Hueston Hennigan LLP, xmorrow@hueston.com
Mike Behrens, Heston Hennigan LLP, MBehrens@hueston.com
Committee Member: Katie Seiden, Hueston Hennigan LLP, KSeiden@hueston.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Alex Giza, Hueston Hennigan LLP, agiza@hueston.com

Past Presidents Outreach Committee
Ensures LAIPLA maintains strong relationship with our Past Presidents.
Committee Chairs: Mark Treitel, Quinn Emanuel, MarkTreitel@quinnemanuel.com
Bita Rahebi, Morrison & Foerster, BRahebi@mofo.com

Patent Dinners Committee
Plans our Fall and Spring patent programs.
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Sarah Brooks, Venable LLP, ssbrooks@venable.com
Graham Cole, Proskauer, graham.b.cole@outlook.com
Members: Jacob Zodieru, Fulwider Patton LLP, JZodieru@fulpat.com
Nick Krebs, Cypress LLP, nick@cypressllp.com

Small Firm Outreach Committee
Plans our small firm and solo practitioner networking meetings and increases participation of small firm and solo practitioner attorneys at our events.
Committee Chairs: Vincent Pollmeier, LTL Attorneys, vincent.pollmeier@ltlattorneys.com
Kyri Tsircou, Tsircou Law, kyri@tsircoulaw.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: David Randall, Brooks Kushman, DRandall@BrooksKushman.com
Members: Saleh Kaihani, Vitality IP, skaihani@vitalityip.com, Paul Novack, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak, paul@hdmnlaw.com, Mark A. Treitel, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP, marktreitel@quinnemanuel.com

Sponsorship Committee
Solicits sponsorships for our larger events.
Committee Chair: Sean Casey, Buchalter, scasey@buchalter.com
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Laura Burson, Sheppard Mullin, lburson@sheppardmullin.com
Ashe Puri, FoxRothschild, apuri@foxrothschild.com
Members: Judges’ Night- Ted Chandler, Sidley Austin LLP, tchandler@sidley.comAlex Giza, Hueston Hennigan LLP, agiza@hueston.com
Washington in the West- Ashe Puri, FoxRothschild, apuri@foxrothschild.com
Spring Seminar- Laura Burson, Sheppard Mullin, lburson@sheppardmullin.comSarah Brooks, Venable LLP, ssbrooks@venable.comJacob Zodieru, Fulwider Patton LLP, jzodieru@fulpat.com
TechTainment- Mark A. Treitel, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP, marktreitel@quinnemanuel.comDavid Randall, Brooks Kushman, DRandall@BrooksKushman.com

Spring Seminar Committee
Plans our premier event of the year, Spring Seminar.
Committee Co-Chairs: Erica Van Loon, Lathrop Gage LLP, evanloon@lathropgage.com
Rachel Capoccia, Jeffer Mangels Butler & Mitchell, rcapoccia@jmbm.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Laura Burson, Sheppard Mullin, lburson@sheppardmullin.com
Members:  Mark A. Treitel, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP, marktreitel@quinnemanuel.com
Jacob Zodieru, Fulwider Patton LLP, jzodieru@fulpat.com
Cynthia Cohen, Verdict Success, ccohen@verdictsuccess.com
Ted Chandler, Sidley Austin LLP, tchandler@sidley.com
Sarah Brooks, Venable LLP, ssbrooks@venable.com
Graham Cole, Proskauer, graham.b.cole@outlook.com
Paul Bost, Sheppard Mullin, pbost@sheppardmullin.co
Nimalka Wickramasekera
, Winston & Strawn, NWickramasekera@winston.com

TechTainment Committee
Plans our Technology + Entertainment conference in conjunction with Loyola Law School.
Committee Chairs: David Randall, Brooks Kushman, DRandall@BrooksKushman.com
Daniel Stone, Greenberg Glusker, dstone@greenbergglusker.com
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Mark A. Treitel, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP, marktreitel@quinnemanuel.com
Members: Kiren Ahuja, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP, ahuja.kiren@gmail.com
Oral Caglar, CalTech, oral.caglar@caltech.edu
Celia Cho, Law offices of Celia Cho, Celia@cclegalresource.com
Brian Costello, Loyola Law School, brian.costello@lls.edu
Professor Jay Dougherty, Loyola Law School, jay.dougherty@lls.edu
Tracey Freed, Tracey Freed Law, tracey@traceyfreedlaw.com
Lindsey Hinojosa, Loyola Law School, lindsey.hinojosa@lls.com
Professor Karl Manheim, Loyola Law School, karl.manheim@lls.edu
Patrick Maloney, University of Southern California, pmaloney@stevens.usc.edu
Roya Rahmanpour, Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Roya.Rahmanpour@btlaw.com

Washington in the West Committee
Plans our successful Washington in the West program, the premier patent prosecution program on the West Coast.
Committee Chair: Jonathan Statman, Morrison Foerster, jstatman@mofo.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Ashe Puri, FoxRothschild, apuri@foxrothschild.com
Members: Erol Basol, Morrison Foerster, ebasol@mofo.com
Vikas Bhargava, Knobbe, Vikas.Bhargava@knobbe.com
Shilpa Coorg, Winston & Strawn, scoorg@winston.com
Darren Franklin, Sheppard Mullin, Richter, & Hampton LLP, DFranklin@sheppardmullin.com
Milan Kapadia, Boeing, milan.s.kapadia@boeing.com
Donald Min, Johnson Controls, DonaldMin@tycoint.com
Ruchika Verma, Morrison & Foerster, rverma@mofo.com
Benjamin Yaghoubian, Kirkland & Ellis, benjamin.yaghoubian@kirkland.com

Women in IP Committee
Plans our Fall and Spring Women in IP programs.
Committee Co-Chairs: Rose S. Lee, Morrison & Foerster LLP, roselee@mofo.com
Lori Levine, Cooley, llevine@cooley.com
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Helen Omapas, HARMAN International, helen.omapas@harman.com
Members: Margaret Marr, marrmrgrt@sbcglobal.net
Lisa Zang, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, lzang@wsgr.com
Dora Gruner, NantWorks LLC, Dora.Gruner@nantworks.com
Laura M. Burson, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP, lburson@sheppardmullin.com
Darya Laufer, Roll Law Group, Darya.Laufer@Roll.com
Sarah Brooks, Venable LLP, SSBrooks@Venable.com

Young Lawyers Outreach Committee
Plans our Young Lawyers programs and increases participation of Young Lawyer at our events.
Committee C0-chairs: Kevin Bendix, Kirkland & Ellis LLP, kevin.bendix@kirkland.com
Nicholas M. Krebs, Cypress LLP, nick@cypressllp.com
Jacob Zodieru, Fulwider Patton LLP, jzodieru@fulpat.com
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Laura M. Burson, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP, lburson@sheppardmullin.com
Members: Yungmoon Chang, Kirkland & Ellis, yungmoon.chang@kirkland.com

If you would like to join a LAIPLA Committee, please email the Committee Chair.


2017-2018 Committees