Committees 2020-2021

LAIPLA Committees 2020-2021

Ambassador Outreach Committee
Plans the Ambassador Program, ensuring there is an LAIPLA contact person at all member firms and companies and increases participation of our Member Firms at our events. 
Committee ChairJack O’Donnell, Morrison & Foerster
LAIPLA Board LiaisonErol Basol, Kubota & Basol 

Copyright Committee 
Plans our Winter and Spring Copyright programs. 
Committee ChairDaniel Kadin, Lathrop GPM
LAIPLA Board Liaison:  Erica Van Loon, Lathrop GPM 
Members: Scott Commerson, Davis Wright Tremaine
Daniel Kadin, Lathrop GPM
Tracy Rane, Kasowitz
Jan Jensen, Jensen Law Firm

Courthouse Lunch Committee
Plans the yearly courthouse lunch at the Federal Court in a Judge’s courtroom.
Committee Chair: Heather Takahashi
LAIPLA Board LiaisonGraham Cole, City of Hope 

Diversity Outreach Committee
Plans our Summer Diversity Fellowship program to increase diversity in the Intellectual Property community.
Committee ChairJennifer So, Honda
LAIPLA Board LiaisonChristopher Jackson, Warner Bros.
Members: Anthony Peluso, Arent Fox
Nick Fung, Morrison Foerster
Dan Latimer, Honda
Paul J. Lee, KPPB LLP
James Abe, Alston & Bird LLP

The ways to get involved with LAIPLA are many. Committees run the gamut, from the Ambassador Committee to the Young Lawyers Committee and many in between.




Members Participating


Always Room For One More!

In-House Outreach Committee
Ensures that LAIPLA meets the needs of its in-house members and increases participation of In-House attorneys at our events.
Committee Chair: Jonathan Statman, Kubota & Basol
LAIPLA Board LiaisonErol Basol, Kubota & Basol
Helen Omapas, HARMAN International
Member: Lawrence S. Cohen, Cohen IP Law

Judges’ Night Committee
Plans our biggest night of the year, the Judges’ Night Gala.
Committee Chair: Desmond Jui, Lathrop GPM 
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Xinlin Morrow, Morrow Firm
Members:  Carson Zheng, Goodwin

Law School Outreach Committee
Plans our Law School Road Show events.
Committee Chairs: Arka Chatterjee, Natera
LAIPLA Board LiaisonsJacob ZodieruArent Fox 
Graham Cole, City of Hope 

Mentorship Committee
Organizes our mentorship program for law students.
Committee Chair:  Steve Smyrski
LAIPLA Board Liason:  Jacob Zodieru, Arent Fox
Members:  Matt Samuels, Twitch
Arka D. Chatterjee, Natera
Steve Corr, Jones Day
Amir Naini, Proskauer
Nicole Williams, Fish & Richardson
Kirk Bacon, Shook, Hardy & Bacon
Darren Franklin, Sheppard Mullin
Paul Lee,  KPPB
Sam Santopoalo, Kirkland

Past Presidents Outreach Committee
Ensures LAIPLA maintains a strong relationship with our Past Presidents.
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Sarah S. Brooks, Venable LLP

Patent and Trade Secrets Committee
Plans our Fall and Spring patent and trade secrets programs.
Committee Co-Chairs: Sarah Cork, Proskauer
Jeff Kichaven, Jeff Kichaven Mediation

LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Hans Mayer, Knobbe Martens 
Graham Cole, City of Hope 
Members: Alex Zeng, Knobbe Martens
Jordan Nafekh, Irell & Manella LLP
Vinny Ling, Munger Tolles & Olson
Ben Shiroma, Knobbe Martens

Small Firm Outreach Committee
Plans our small firm and solo practitioner networking meetings and increases participation of small firm and solo practitioner attorneys at our events.
Committee Co-Chairs: Amy A. Breyer, Breyer Andrew LLP
Kyri Tsircou, Tsircou Intellectual Property Law
LAIPLA Board LiaisonXinlin Morrow, Morrow Firm
Members:  Lawrence S. Cohen, Lawrence Cohen IP Law
Matthew J. Norris, Norris Law Group, PC
Melvin N.A. Avanzado, Avanzado Law Firm

Special Events Committee
Plans special events for members, including the Welcome Back Mixer and Holiday Party. 

Committee Co-Chairs: Stephen Kelley, Cypress LLP
Dan Corren Cypress LLP
LAIPLA Board Liaison: Dave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak

Sponsorship Committee
Coordinates sponsorship for our events.
Committee Chair: Shilpa Coorg, DTO Law 
LAIPLA Board LiaisonNatasha Daughtrey, Goodwin Procter
MembersTechTainment– Dave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak  
Washington in the West – Ashe Puri, Maynard Cooper & Gale
Judges’ Night – Erica Van Loon, Lathrop GPM 
Spring Seminar – Ted Chandler, Baker Botts

Spring Seminar Committee
Plans our premier event of the year, Spring Seminar.
Committee Chair: TBD
LAIPLA Board Liaisons: Ted Chandler, Baker Botts
Natasha Daughtrey, Goodwin Procter
Sarah S. Brooks, Venable
Members: Elizabeth Low, Goodwin

Technology Transactions Committee 
Plans our Fall and Spring technology transactions programs. 
Committee Co-Chairs: Dora GrunerNantKwest 
Stephen Kong, Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders
LAIPLA Board LiaisonSarah S. Brooks, Venable 

TechTainment Committee
Plans our Technology + Entertainment conference in conjunction with Loyola Law School.
Committee Chair: Mark Treitel, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart and Sullivan LLP
Dave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak
LAIPLA Board LiaisonDave Randall, Hackler Daghighian Martino & Novak

Loyola Law School LiaisonProfessor Justin Hughes, Loyola Law School
Members: Professor Karl Manheim, Loyola Law School
Prof. Julie Shapiro, Loyola Law School 
Kiren Ahuja, Hulu 
Oral CaglarDisney 
Fabio de Sa CesnikCesnik Quintino & Salinas  
Sherrie Flynn, Coleman & Horwitt  
Tracey Freed, Tracey Freed Law  
Adam Lewental, The Lewental Firm
Patrick MaloneyLowenstein & Weatherwax LLP 
Roya Rahmanpour, Barnes & Thornburg LLP 

Trademark Committee 
Plans our Fall and Spring trademark programs. 
Committee Chair: Daniel Kadin, Lathrop GPM
LAIPLA Board Liaison:  Erica Van Loon, Lathrop GPM
Members: Scott Commerson, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Tracy Rane, Ballard Spahr, LLP

Washington in the West Committee
Plans our Washington in the West program, the premier patent and trademark prosecution program on the West Coast.
Committee Chair: Jonathan Statman, Kubota & Basol
LAIPLA Board LiaisonsAshe Puri, Maynard Cooper & Gale 
Hans Mayer, Knobbe Martens 
Graham Cole, City of Hope 
Members: Erol Basol, Kubota & Basol
Vikas Bhargava, Knobbe Martens
Shilpa Coorg, DTO Law 
Darren Franklin, Sheppard Mullin, Richter, & Hampton LLP 
Milan Kapadia, Boeing 
Donald Min, Johnson Controls 
Ruchika Verma, Perkins Coie
Benjamin Yaghoubian, Kirkland & Ellis 

Women in IP Committee
Plans our Fall and Spring Women in IP programs.
Committee ChairSharoni Finkelstein, Venable
LAIPLA Board LiaisonsHelen Omapas, HARMAN International
Sarah S. Brooks, Venable
Members: Dora Gruner, NantWorks LLC 
Rose Lee, Morrison & Foerster 

Young Lawyers Outreach Committee
Plans our Young Lawyers programs and increases participation of Young Lawyer at our events.
Committee Chair: Nicholas Krebs, Gordon & Rees
LAIPLA Board Liaisons:  Jacob ZodieruArent Fox
Xinlin Morrow, Morrow Firm
Members: Bassil Madanat, Ruttenberg
Matt Samuels 
Colin Bosch, Kirkland & Ellis

If you would like to join an LAIPLA Committee, please email the Board Liaison. 

2019-2020 Committees
2018-2019 Committees
2017-2018 Committees